Keeping Youth Sports Safe Program

TOP ROW (L to R): Peter McLouglin, President of the Seattle Seahawks & Sounders FC; Jen Carroll, Washington State Athletic Trainers Association; Doug Andreassen, Washington State Youth Soccer Association; Richard H. Adler, Founding Principal of Adler Giersch ps law offices and Chairman of the Executive Board of the Brain Injury Association of Washington; Lisa Thatcher, Lobbyist for the Brain Injury Association of Washington; Hunt Batjer, MD, Neurosurgeon, Co-Medical Director of the NFL’s Head, Neck and Spine Committee; Washington Governor Christine Gregoire; Roger Goodell, NFL Commissioner; General Peter Chiarelli, U.S Army; Ilena Arias, Ph.D, Principal Deputy Director for Centers for Disease Control; Richard G. Ellenbogen, MD, Co-Medical Director of the NFL’s Head, Neck and Spine Committee and Chief of Neurological Surgery at UW Medical and Seattle Childrens’ Hospital; Jeff Miller, Governmental Affairs for the NFL BOTTOM (L to R): Kevin Griffin, Director of Fan Development & Community Relations, Seattle Seahawks & Seattle Sounders FC; Representative Jay Rodne, 5th District; Mike Colbrease, Executive Director of the Washington Interscholastic Activities Association; Dick Langum, Cannfield & Associates; Stanley Herring, MD, Co-Medical Director Seattle Sports Concussion Program at Harborview Medical Center and Medical Director of Spine Care at University of Washington Medicine, Team Physician for the Seattle Seahawks; Jim Whitehead, CEO, American College of Sports Medicine

Saturday morning October 9, 2010 was a special day at the Seattle Seahawks practice facility in Renton, Washington as distinguished group met and presented on the topic of preventing preventable brain injuries in all sports and the military and making youth sports safer. Richard H. Adler, Attorney at Law and Chairman of the Executive Board of the Brain Injury Association, joined NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell and Governor Chris Gregoire in delivering keynote presentations, along with a top-tier medical doctors and community leaders that helped in the passage of the Zackery Lystedt Law on May 14, 2009.